Articles  |   October 2019
Warren M. Zapol, M.D., to present ‘Improving Lung Function From ECMO to NO to eNO’
Author Affiliations
  • Susan A. Vassallo, M.D.
    Chair, Lewis H. Wright Memorial Lecture Committee
    Past-President, Wood Library-Museum of Anesthesiology
Article Information
Respiratory System / Articles
Articles   |   October 2019
Warren M. Zapol, M.D., to present ‘Improving Lung Function From ECMO to NO to eNO’
ASA Monitor 10 2019, Vol.83, 46-49.
ASA Monitor 10 2019, Vol.83, 46-49.
The Lewis H. Wright Memorial Lecture is sponsored annually by the Wood Library-Museum of Anesthesiology (WLM) and honors the lecture’s namesake, who was a pioneer in American anesthesiology. Dr. Wright was committed to enhancing the stature of anesthesiology as a clinical science and as an advanced medical specialty. He was a founding member of the WLM Board of Trustees and later served as its president emeritus. In 1973, the New York State Society of Anesthesiologists endowed this lectureship to honor Dr. Wright, who died the following year.
This year’s presenter is Warren M. Zapol, M.D., Reginald Jenney Distinguished Professor of Anaesthesia, Harvard Medical School, Anesthetist-in-Chief Emeritus, Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Zapol received a B.S. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1962 and a M.D. from the University of Rochester School of Medicine in 1966. He completed a surgical internship on the Harvard Surgical Unit at the Boston City Hospital in 1967 and then served as a Staff Associate at the National Heart and Lung Institute, and the National Institutes of Health (NIH) from 1967-1970. While at the NIH, Dr. Zapol studied how to oxygenate term fetal lambs using an extracorporeal exchange system and a membrane artificial lung.1,2  Dr. Zapol completed a residency in anesthesia at the Massachusetts General Hospital in 1972, and in 1991 he was appointed the second Reginald Jenney Professor of Anaesthesia at Harvard Medical School, after Henning Pontoppidan, M.D. Dr. Zapol was appointed Anesthetist-in-Chief in 1994 and remained in this role until 2008.
Submit a Comment
Submit A Comment

Contributors must reveal any conflict of interest. Comments are moderated.

Affiliation & Institution
I have a potential conflict of interest
Comment Title

This feature is available to Subscribers Only
ASA Member Login or Create an Account ×