Committees  |   March 2018
Author Affiliations
  • Jonathan A. Lipps, M.D.
    Committee on Young Physicians
  • Becky J. Wong, M.D.
    Committee on Young Physicians
  • Rachel M. Kacmar, M.D.
    Committee on Young Physicians
  • Talia K. Ben-Jacob, M.D., M.Sc.
    Committee on Young Physicians
Article Information
Education / CPD / Quality Improvement / Committees
Committees   |   March 2018
ASA Monitor 03 2018, Vol.82, 34-37.
ASA Monitor 03 2018, Vol.82, 34-37.
On September 10, 2015, the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) announced a redesigned Maintenance of Certification in Anesthesiology™ (MOCA®) program, MOCA 2.0®, to replace the decennial exam and the MOCA program launched in 2004. This newest iteration, which was revamped based on diplomate feedback, allows physicians to tailor the program to their individual practice. The hope is that by providing a more personalized, non-onerous and educational approach to lifelong learning, this new process will better assist practicing anesthesiologists in caring for their patients.
Whether one is new to MOCA or just to MOCA 2.0, it is not unreasonable to feel confusion in attempting to navigate through the various requirements. The purpose of this article is to help the practicing anesthesiologist more easily understand what is needed to maintain certification. In short, MOCA 2.0 is divided into four parts:
Submit a Comment
Submit A Comment

Contributors must reveal any conflict of interest. Comments are moderated.

Affiliation & Institution
I have a potential conflict of interest
Comment Title

This feature is available to Subscribers Only
ASA Member Login or Create an Account ×