Committees  |   May 2013
How to Meet Patient Safety CME Requirements for MOCA®
Author Affiliations
  • David Martin, M.D., Ph.D.
    Anesthesia Patient Safety Program Editorial Board
Article Information
Education / CPD / Patient Safety / Committees
Committees   |   May 2013
How to Meet Patient Safety CME Requirements for MOCA®
ASA Monitor 05 2013, Vol.77, 46.
ASA Monitor 05 2013, Vol.77, 46.
As ASA 2009 President Roger Litwiller, M.D. often said, “It’s all about the patient because we have no other reason to exist.” In 1999, the Institute of Medicine highlighted anesthesiology as a role model for recognizing system errors that lead to patient harm and improving patient safety. Maintenance of Certification in Anesthesia (MOCA®) was instituted by the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) in 2000. MOCA® is a 10-year process demonstrating ongoing educational, clinical and professional development. Two hundred-fifty hours of continuing medical education (CME) are required for recertification. In 2008, the ABA refined the CME requirement and mandated that 20 CME hours be devoted to patient safety, the highest of any medical specialty. Specific requirements may vary based upon when you entered the program. Members may refer to this website for more specific information:
Submit a Comment
Submit A Comment

Contributors must reveal any conflict of interest. Comments are moderated.

Affiliation & Institution
I have a potential conflict of interest
Comment Title

This feature is available to Subscribers Only
ASA Member Login or Create an Account ×